Tail lights on with DRL's

Faults and Technical chat for the Mazda CX-3
jtonline

Post by jtonline »

I've just bought some bits with the aim of wiring the tail lights so that they come on with the ignition without the side lights switch being on. Then they'll be on when the daytime running lights at the front are.

If all goes according to plan, I'll post how I did it, if anyone's interested. There is no doubt more than one way to achieve this, and I'm not an auto electrician, but what I have in mind should work. I may get an opportunity to make a start tomorrow.

relays.jpg

Julian.
Sept. 2015 CX-3 Sport Nav, Dynamic Blue Mica, 1.5 Diesel, AWD, Automatic
http://www.jtonline.info
Please add year of registration, model info., and location to your CX-3 Forums profile ~ See here for help: http://bit.ly/2fQzMfd

HouseSpider

Post by HouseSpider »

I'm probably wrong, but I thought that Mazda could configure the rears to come on automatically with the drls just by reprogramming. I'm sure it's mandatory to have such in some countries. So if Mazda sells there, then is it done using software or additional hardware?
Sports Nav Auto Petrol 2017, 131bhp (chipped), Soul Red, Half Stone Leather, Safety Pack, Arm Rest, Auto Folding Mirror Kit, Detachable Tow Bar, HatchBag Boot Liner, Stebel Nautilus Compact horn. Space saver.
jtonline

Post by jtonline »

Yeah, I did think of that, but I'm not sure Mazda UK would give the necessary info. to my dealer for them to do it, and then there's the labour cost.
For me to do it myself programatically, (if indeed it's possible) I'd have to obtain the codes to change in the BCM (and I couldn't find any on t'interweb) plus buy a modified ELM327 OBD2 programmer.
The way I'm proposing has only cost me £10.14 and is just a fun little project ;)
Julian.
Please add year of registration, model info., and location to your CX-3 Forums profile ~ See here for help: http://bit.ly/2fQzMfd
santa

Post by santa »