kms to miles on digital speedo

All Mazda CX-3 related discussions
Post Reply
PurbeckCX3
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:08 pm
Location: Dorset and Marbella

Post by PurbeckCX3 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:12 pm

We are considering taking the CX3 back to the UK this summer.
However I cannot see how you can convert the digital speedo on our Spanish car from kms to miles.
It does not have the second button to the left above the speedo that the UK car seems to have. I only have one button to reset trip and adjust instrument lighting.
Is there anything in the settings that can do this?
Thanks Rob

User avatar
anchorman
Posts: 1071
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:23 pm

Post by anchorman » Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:30 pm

The distance units are in the settings of the MZD Rob.
CX-5 Sportnav diesel auto. AWD

st3v3cx-3
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 7:56 pm
Location: South East UK

Post by st3v3cx-3 » Thu Jan 05, 2017 6:41 pm

It seems the ability to change the digital speedo readout between kmh and mph, and the other way round, is only available in certain countries! Seems a weird decision not making it available on all digital speedometer types in Europe at least, especially as owners might visit the UK on holiday in their own car.
Sport Nav Petrol Automatic FWD Arctic White plus options April 2016

PurbeckCX3
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:08 pm
Location: Dorset and Marbella

Post by PurbeckCX3 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:22 pm

anchorman wrote:The distance units are in the settings of the MZD Rob.
Thanks, but this only changes the trip and the mpg, but the speedo remains in kms.

PurbeckCX3
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:08 pm
Location: Dorset and Marbella

Post by PurbeckCX3 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 6:23 pm

st3v3cx-3 wrote:It seems the ability to change the digital speedo readout between kmh and mph, and the other way round, is only available in certain countries! Seems a weird decision not making it available on all digital speedometer types in Europe at least, especially as owners might visit the UK on holiday in their own car.
Yep, seems your right. Crazy! Fortunately my old Garmin has a speedo dashboard setting.

st3v3cx-3
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 7:56 pm
Location: South East UK

Post by st3v3cx-3 » Fri Jan 06, 2017 7:56 pm

If you are just bringing your car to the UK as a tourist - i.e. it is registered to another country - for a temporary period, then it doesn't need a mph reading speedometer. Useful to have your Garmin unit to save you having to mentally convert the kph reading to mph. It may be possible for a dealer to carry out a change were a more permanent fix be required without replacing the unit itself.
Sport Nav Petrol Automatic FWD Arctic White plus options April 2016

terence0320
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 12:08 pm

Post by terence0320 » Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:00 pm

I think the setting in MZD should be applied not only to odometer but also speedometer.

User avatar
HouseSpider
Posts: 496
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:47 am
Location: New Forest

Post by HouseSpider » Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:58 pm

If you use the other button/stalk to the top left of the instrument panel it will change both between km & miles. Or at least it does on my model.
Sports Nav Auto Petrol 2017, 131bhp (chipped), Soul Red, Half Stone Leather, Safety Pack, Arm Rest, Auto Folding Mirror Kit, Detachable Tow Bar, HatchBag Boot Liner, Stebel Nautilus Compact horn.

Strangways
Posts: 745
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:35 pm
Location: Edenbridge Kent
Contact:

Post by Strangways » Tue Oct 19, 2021 8:01 am

HouseSpider wrote:
Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:58 pm
If you use the other button/stalk to the top left of the instrument panel it will change both between km & miles. Or at least it does on my model.
Yes that works on mine too.
2019 CX-3 2.0 Sport Nav+ Automatic in ETERNAL BLUE
2015 MX-5 2.0 Sport Nav Manual in SOUL RED

santa
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2015 5:54 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by santa » Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:40 am

HouseSpider wrote:
Sun Oct 17, 2021 4:58 pm
If you use the other button/stalk to the top left of the instrument panel it will change both between km & miles. Or at least it does on my model.
It's only a feature on cars for markets which uses miles (US/UK).
CX-3s sold on mainland Europe (and else where) doesn't have the feature.
Mazda CX-3 2.0 120HP Optimum Aut. in Jet Black, 2015.
http://www.spritmonitor.de/en/detail/721903.html

Post Reply